Create and Enforce a Blocking Plan

Follow

INTRODUCTION

Dyknow's Blocking Plan feature enables Dyknow Teachers to block or allow student device access to select websites and/or applications. Blocking plans provide fantastic flexibility for Teachers who set different expectations about on-task and off-task behavior by Class, by student, and by day.

Blocking Plans can be created before/after or during a monitoring session, but Blocking Plans must be enforced during a monitoring session in order to be active. Dyknow also enables teachers to assign a Default Blocking Plan to a class so it will be automatically enforced when he/she starts a monitoring session for that same class.

Review our Blocking Plans Overview and Blocking Plans FAQ for more information.

This document is a resource for Dyknow Teachers to understand how to:

 

CREATE A BLOCKING PLAN

Follow the steps below to create a new Dyknow Blocking Plan before or after a monitoring session.

1. Login to Dyknow.

2. Click the Blocking Plans tab; you will be redirected to the Blocking Plans page.

My_Classes_-_blocking_plans_2.png

3. Click Create New Plan; the Create Blocking Plan modal will appear.

Blocking_Plans_-_create_new_plan.png

4. Enter a name for your Blocking Plan in the Plan field.

Blocking_Plans_-_plan_name.png

5. Click to select the Blocking Plan Type; review Blocking Plan Type options below:

Option 1: Allow Only

Select the websites and/or applications you WANT to allow your students to go to. All other programs and websites will be blocked, except those you designate.

For example:

  • During a test, Allow Only the website where the test is being given, and a browser for that website to launch.
  • During direct instruction, Allow Only note taking tools, such as OneNote, Google Docs, and Microsoft Word.

Blocking_Plans_-_allow_only_plan_name_2.png

Option 2: Block Only

Selecting the websites and/or applications you DON'T WANT your students to go to. All other programs and websites will be accessible, except for the those you designate.

For example:

  • During academic research, Block Only non-scholarly websites such as Wikipedia.
  • During group work, Block Only music websites and apps such as Pandora, Spotify, and iTunes.

Blocking_Plans_-_block_only.png

6. Enter the URLs for the websites and/or web pages you'd like to block/allow in the Websites field.

Note:

  • If you're typing out the website URL, Dyknow will suggest options that other Teachers have used before. Click one of the recommended options to add it to your Blocking Plan. If Dyknow does not suggest an option, check the spelling of your website, then click the Add Website button.
  • If you copy and paste a full URL (for a web page), click the Add Website button.
  • For more information on blocking websites/URLs, read the Blocking Websites section of our Blocking Plans Overview article.

Dyknow Tip:

Enter Common Distractions into the Websites or Applications field of a Block Only Blocking Plan to quickly and easily block over 300 of the most distracting websites and applications, from games and music to social media and streaming services. Click here to learn more about Blocking Plan bundles.

7. Enter the names of applications you'd like to block/allow into the Applications field; Dyknow will suggest Application option(s) that other Teachers have used before. Click the recommended option to add it to your Blocking Plan.

Note:

  • If Dyknow does not suggest an option, check the spelling of your application. If the spelling is correct, please email support@dyknow.com so our School Success Team can add the application to our catalog.
  • Dyknow does not currently support blocking in the Firefox web browser on student Mac devices. As an alternative, please allow a supported browser like Safari or Chrome.
  • For more information on blocking apps, read the Blocking Applications section of our Blocking Plans Overview article.

Dyknow Tip:

Enter Web browsers into the Applications field of an Allow Only Blocking Plan to give students access to any web browser, but no web browser extensions. Click here to learn more about Blocking Plan bundles.

8. Click Save; your Blocking Plan will now be available for use during any of your Classes.

9. Continue to

Note: A Blocking Plan must be enforced during a monitoring session in order to be active.

 

ENFORCE A BLOCKING PLAN

Follow the steps below to enforce a Blocking Plan during a monitoring session.

1. Login to Dyknow.

2. Click Start Monitoring for the relevant Class; your monitoring session will begin immediately.

My_Classes_-_start_monitoring.png

3. Click Modify Blocking; the Blocking modal will appear.

modify_blocking.png

4. Determine whether you want to enforce a Blocking Plan you previously created or create and enforce a new Blocking Plan; review options below:

Enforce a Blocking Plan already created

If you want to enforce a Blocking Plan you already created:

  • Click the Plan field;
  • Select the desired Blocking Plan; the Blocking modal will refresh to show the details of the selected Blocking Plan;
  • Edit, if needed, to:
    • Update the list of allowed/blocked Websites;
    • Update the list of allowed/blocked Applications;
    • Add a Name;
    • Add an End Time; and,
  • Click Enforce.

Enforce a new Blocking Plan

If you want to create and enforce a new Blocking Plan:

  • Select either Allow Only or Block Only in the Type field;
  • Enter the URLs for the websites and/or web pages you want to block/allow in the Websites field;
  • Enter the names of applications you want to block/allow into the Applications field;
  • Optionally:
  • Click Enforce.

Enforce a Segmented Blocking Plan

To enforce two Blocking Plans:

  • Select the Turn on Segmented Blocking button;
  • Select a previously created Blocking Plan, or create a new Blocking Plan, to enforce for Group 1; and,
  • Select a previously created Blocking Plan, or create a new Blocking Plan, to enforce for Group 2; and,
  • Click Enforce.

Note: For more information on Segmented Blocking Plans, read our Create a Segmented Blocking Plan article.

segmented_blocking_-_enforce.png

When a Blocking Plan is enforced:

  • Students will be unable to access blocked websites or open blocked applications until the enforced Blocking Plan is modified or released.
  • Any blocked applications that are open on a student device will be hidden from view.
  • Students that are on or attempt to access blocked websites will be redirected to studentontask.com, where they will see the message: This site is currently blocked. Please be on task.
  • Dyknow Teachers will be notified when a student attempts to access a blocked website/application; the Blocked Students section in the Activity Tracker will highlight red.

Blocked_Students_3.png

 

REMOVE AN ENFORCED BLOCKING PLAN

Follow the steps below to remove an enforced Blocking Plan during a monitoring session.

To remove an enforced Blocking Plan for all students in your monitoring session, click the remove blocking hyperlink (in grid view).

blocking_-_remove_blocking.png

To remove an enforced Blocking Plan for an individual student, bring that student's device into big view and click the Remove Blocking Plan button.

blocking_-_remove_blocking_-_big_view.png

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments