FAQ: Monitoring

Follow

INTRODUCTION

Dyknow monitoring enables teachers to:

  • Track and observe student device activity;
  • Interact with students (instead of watching their screens throughout class); and,
  • Gain peace of mind knowing Dyknow is recording students' activity history and they can access it all after class (in Class History).

If you've already reviewed the content within our Monitoring Overview article, check out our responses to the most commonly asked questions about Dyknow monitoring below.

 

WHY CAN'T I MONITOR STUDENTS?

If students ever log off their device, login to their device with an incorrect username (email address), or disconnect from the internet, their devices will not connect to your monitoring session.

In order for student devices to connect to your session and be monitored, please confirm the following:

  1. Each student device has Dyknow installed.
  2. Each student is logged into their device with the same unique username (email address) that we have for them in Dyknow.
  3. Each student device is connected to the internet.
  4. Each student is listed in your class roster.​

If you are able to confirm the above and students are still not able to be monitored, please send us Log Reports from a couple of student devices. It's simple to do and will help us investigate that issue further - click here for step-by-step instructions on sending Log Reports.

 

HOW LONG CAN I MONITOR?

Up to 4 hours, consecutively, for each monitoring session.

To start monitoring a new class, a teacher must first stop monitoring the current class. If a Dyknow Teacher does not end a monitoring session:

Any monitoring session that is ended can be restarted.

 

WHAT IF I FORGET TO START/END MONITORING?

If a Dyknow Teacher forgets to click the Start Monitoring button for a class, student device activity will not be:

If a Dyknow Teacher forgets to click the End Monitoring button for a class:

 

HOW DO I CHANGE THE MONITORING TIME?

The days/times during which teachers can monitor student devices are determined by a Dyknow Administrator in the Blackout SettingsIf a Dyknow Teacher clicks the Start Monitoring button any time outside of the enabled days and times, the Outside Monitoring Time notification will appear, identifying the enabled days and times.

To change the days/times during which monitoring is enabled, please contact your Dyknow Administrator.

Outside_Monitoring_Time_2.jpg

 

DO STUDENTS KNOW THEY'RE BEING MONITORED?

No, students that are being monitored in Dyknow will not know they're being monitored. 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments